Category

Publishing News

New Releases, Publishing News

Blackstone Publishing Inks Six-Figure Deal with Bruno and Castle for Black Badge Series

It’s official! More James Crowley is coming in THE BLACK BADGE SERIES. See the announcement below:

Rhett C. Bruno & Jaime Castle have inked a six-figure deal with Blackstone Publishing to publish three novels in the Black Badge series, a fantasy-western inspired by their Washington Post and #1 Audible Bestselling novella, Dead Acre.

The overarching series is described by the authors as The Dresden Files meets The Witcher set in a wild west filled with mysticism and magic. The plot follows James Crowley, an outlaw who died in a shootout many years ago but has been risen by Heaven to battle the forces of Hell on the mortal plane. He is not quite undead, but not alive either. He is a Black Badge.

The writing duo’s literary agent, Ethan Ellenberg of the Ethan Ellenberg Literary Agency, negotiated the deal following a bidding war between multiple interested partners.

The authors had this to say about choosing Blackstone: “We are absolutely thrilled to be in business with Blackstone Publishing. It’s rare we find a publisher that shares our passion and zeal, but the team has shown us their enthusiasm with Black Badge in a way we couldn’t deny.”

Bruno is a USA Today and Washington Post Bestselling author. His short story Interview for the End of the World was nominated for a 2019 Nebula Award. Castle is a Washington Post Bestselling author. The duo previously teamed on the Buried Goddess Saga and The Luna Missile Crisis.

Founded in 1987, Blackstone Publishing is a leading audiobook, print and eBook publisher. Its growing catalog of over 13,000 audiobook titles by authors such as Karin SlaughterDon Winslow and Neil deGrasse Tyson have charted on several bestselling lists. Blackstone’s thriving print and ebook imprint releases over eighty titles a year by both new and established writers, including James ClavellRex Pickett, and Meg Gardiner, among others.

In related news, producing vet Gilbert Adler (“Valkyrie,” “Superman Returns,” “Constantine“) and Joel Eisenberg (“The Chronicles of Ara,” “Then Again“) have been attached to adapt the Black Badge series as a television project, with plans to package and shop to networks later this year.

 

Continue reading
Awards, Publishing News

The Roach is an Independent Audiobooks Award Finalist!

I’m so thrilled to announce that my latest book, The Roach, is a finalist for a 2021 Independent Audiobook Award in the Thriller Category! Narrator R.C. Bray was absolutely incredible as vigilante Reese Roberts and if I’m being honest, the book wouldn’t exist without him. Thank you to Podium Audio for producing and making it all come together.

If you haven’t listened to The Roach yet, you can find it exclusively on Audible here.

Continue reading
New Releases, Publishing News

The Luna Missile Crisis is Now Available (An Audible Original )

Today marks the biggest release of my career! Audible Originals has released THE LUNA MISSILE CRISIS, written by myself and Jaime Castle, and narrated by the award-winning Ray Porter. That means it’s available exclusively to Audible Listeners for six months.

The book is an Alt-history Sci-Fi adventure, about two brothers struggling to come together after Aliens interrupt the Cold War. The fate of the world hangs in the balance. It’s perfect for fans of District 9The Expanse, and Artemis.

The great Dennis E. Taylor (Bobiverse) had this to say about the book: “Aliens, agents, and espionage abound…This is classic SF in the golden-age tradition. A wild ride!”

Grab your copy today.  Exclusively on Audible.

Continue reading
Publishing News

I’m Publishing an Audio Original!

It finally happened! After a long time of waiting, me and my co-author for the Buried Goddess Saga, Jaime Castle, have found a home for our newest project together, THE LUNA MISSILE CRISIS. We’ve just signed a deal to publish it as an Audible Original later this year.

We finished writing this book together about a year and a half ago, so it’s been a long road. It’s a pulpy, sci-fi adventure set in an alternate 60’s when the arrival of aliens has interrupted the Cold War and shifted the balance of power.  Thank you to Audible and my agent Evan Gregory for making this happen. We couldn’t be more excited to see this book entering the world.

Continue reading
Publishing News, Short Stories

I’m a Nebula Award Finalist!

What a crazy week it’s been. On Wednesday, it was announced that a story of mine was named a finalist for the 2018 Nebula Award for Best Short Story. I’m completely floored, and none of this would be possible without the incredible Sci-Fi Reader & Author Community.

INTERVIEW FOR THE END OF THE WORLD is a prequel to my Children of Titan Series, telling the tale of how the Ringers first got to Titan. You can read the award-nominated edition for free by signing up for my Newsletter, or grab it in the BRIDGE ACROSS THE STARS ANTHOLOGY it was featured in or now on Amazon all on it’s own Here

Continue reading
Publishing News

Titanborn is coming to Audio with RC Bray!

So excited to announce that Audible Studios has snagged the great RC Bray, yeah the guy who narrated The fricken Martian, to narrate my BASTARDS OF THE RING SERIES when it is relaunched / launched as the full, proper series I always wanted it to be in early 2019. This story of a corporate bounty hunter and a rebel offworlder was made for RC. I can’t wait to hear what he does with it.

Continue reading
Publishing News

The Circuit is out on Audio, narrated by Jefferson Mays!

Today is my biggest release yet as an author. My Complete Circuit Trilogy comes to audio in one epic volume thanks to Podium Publishing! Performed by the award-winning Jefferson Mays, who narrates The Expanse by James S. A. Corey, a series I love, I couldn’t be more thrilled to finally have this out in the wild.

So check it out if you’re interested! It’s definitely worth the audible credit at 30 Hours long, and with a free audible trial you could even get it free if you’re new to audio. I’m just starting to get into the medium myself. And please make sure to leave a rating on audible if you do!

 Buy on Audible               Buy on Amazon

Continue reading
Publishing News

I have a New Agent!

Thrilled to announce that my work will now be represented by Evan Gregory of The Ethan Ellenberg Literary Agency! So thrilled to be working with him as I look to take my career to the next level. I’ll be joining authors like John Scalzi and Dennis E. Taylor on their roster, so this is almost a dream come true for me.

Check them out here!

Continue reading
Publishing News

The Circuit Trilogy is Coming to Audio!

It’s official now so I can announce that my Circuit Trilogy has been picked up by Podium Publishing! They’ll be producing an Audio Version of the series some time later this year. I couldn’t be more excited to join the ranks of a publisher who produced the likes of The Martian and books by R.A. Salvatore.

So keep a lookout on Audible. Soon you won’t just be able to read my debut sci-fi series… you can listen to it! Who wants to read anyway?

Continue reading